Iowa: fun, food and run

This past weekend, Brian and I took to the friendly skies and flew home on Air Choice One. It is perhaps the only airline that flies in and out of my hometown. Lucky for us, they were having a $25 each way flight sale out of Chicago. We took the 8-seater plane to my parents back yard for a relaxing weekend.

I went home to run the Great River Bridge Race with my mom. I’m so proud of her. She just took up running in the past few months and finished first in her age group! Published in the local news and everything. The 6.6 mile race was a little long so we settled on the 2.2 miler. A very fun race that is held once a year providing you with the opportunity to run UP Snake Alley and over the Great River Bridge taking you from Iowa to Illinois and back to Iowa.

After the race we headed home to make homemade pizzas on the grill(post coming soon). One of my favorite things to do when I’m home. I used the world’s easiest no-rise pizza dough recipe for a nice fresh crust. Then my mom, dad, Brian and I each made our own pizzas.

My parents had a bunch of high school graduation parties to attend so Brian and I headed to Big Muddy’s for a nice dinner of frog legs and crab legs over looking the Mississippi River.

Sunday for lunch I made orange salmon salads for everyone. My parents loved them and plan on making them again in the near future. However, goat cheese is not all that easy to find in Burlington. We practically went on a scavenger hunt to find it.

Sunday night we convinced my dad to pull out the grill again and headed to Tom’s to get some bone-in sirloin. Wow, they were over an inch thick and I knew we could count on my dad to grill them to perfection. We also had some zucchini and summer squash.

We finished off this delightful meal with angel food cake with fresh berries for dessert.

We needed something a little on the healthier side to balance out all that beouf.

We had an early flight back to Chicago, so early, it allowed us to watch the sunrise over the city skyline and we entered the city. We were lucky to get diverted through the down town area and got some great pictures from the air.

Tell me what you think

