Samosa wraps and the turnip is the new potato

Wow. Wow. Wow!

When Brian and I are deciding what to eat for dinner, we usually default to Mexican or Indian inspired foods. We love them. When I ran across this recipe for samosa wraps from FatFree Vegan, I knew that I was going to have to adapt it to our liking.

I saw that the recipe called for potato. Well, I recently discovered my love for the turnip when I made red lentil soup with turnip and parsley. While eating the soup, I noticed that cooked turnip tasted much like and had the texture of cooked potato. So, I did a little research on the turnip. Did you know that it is a great source of vitamin C, Folic acid, B6 and E, and only have 1/3 as many calories as potatoes?!?!?! Neither did I! Well, you heard it here, first:

The turnip is the new potato!

I got a little excited and off track, sorry. Back to the amazing samosa wraps.

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium turnips(1.5-2 pounds total), peeled and diced
  • 14 oz extra firm tofu, pressed and drained then diced
  • 1 large onion, minced
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen peas
  • 1 15oz can of fire-roasted, diced tomatoes
  • 1-2 tablespoons fresh ginger, minced
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, stemmed, seeded and finely diced
  • 3/4-1 cup water
  • 1 1/2-2 teaspoon salt to taste
  • 3-4 teaspoons curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • tortillas of choice(I used brown rice, gluten-free)

Parboil the diced turnips until can be easily pierced by a fork. Remove water and set aside.

Heat olive oil over medium high. Add onion. Cook onion until it starts to brown.

Add peas, tomato, ginger, jalapeno, and 1/4 cup water. Cook, stirring until peas start to thaw.

Add turnip and tofu to skillet along with 1/2 cup water, salt, curry powder, coriander, cumin, cayenne and lemon juice.

Cover and simmer for 10 minutes. Add more water if necessary. Cook until most of the liquid has evaporated. Taste to determine if more salt or lemon is necessary.

Place a few scoops down center of wrap and roll to eat. Serve with mango chutney if desired. And we did desire.

I hope you’ve read to here before starting to make this recipe. This recipe will probably make 12 decent sized wraps. That was just fine with us, because this stuff is awesome. We’ve been itching to eat this as leftovers every night since I made it. I even ate it atop quinoa. If you don’t love Indian food as much as we do, you may want to cut the recipe in half.  I say go for it whole hog. You won’t regret it.

One response

  1. Oh my gosh! This is awesome. I recently cooked BOTH tofu and turnips for the first time recently. The turnips I threw into a stew, and the tofu I put into a cinnamon rice/lentil dish. Both were excellent. So I’m a huge fan of this recipe and I’m glad you posted it!

Tell me what you think

