Tropical kale salad with homemade dressing

Wowza. This salad is amazing. It tastes like a pina colada that you eat with a fork, but much healthier.

It left me yearning for a vacation with white sandy beaches and drinks with umbrellas. This salad is so good, I feel like it deserves an umbrella garnish. I’ve been wanting to make this for a few weeks, but had been held up the thought of making the salad dressing. I’m usually intimidated by homemade salad dressings, or maybe I’m just lazy, but this one may have changed my mind.

Adapted from Oh She Glows.

Ingredients(for dressing):

  • 1 cup fresh pineapple, chopped
  • 1/4 cup fresh lime juice
  • 3/4 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil, melted

Put all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth.

Ingredients(for salad):

  • 1 head kale, stems removed, torn into bite sized pieces
  • 1 cup pineapple, chopped
  • 1 ripe banana, chopped
  • 1 ripe mango, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons, shredded dried coconut(I used unsweetened)

After you have your kale in a bowl, pour half of the dressing over it. Massage dressing into kale with your hands. I really believe this is the only way to take from “kale” to “kale that anyone will eat”. Be rough with kale. It’s a tough vegetable and can take the beating.

Before massage:

After massage:

Divide kale into two bowls. Top each bowl with half the amount of fruit. Sprinkle coconut over the top. Spoon more dressing over the top.

The dressing recipe makes a lot of dressing. I only used a little over half the total amount of dressing that the recipe made. I could have easily used it all, drenched the salad and drank it out of the bowl and the end. Yes, it’s that good. I’m excited to have some of the dressing left over to use on something else in the next few days.

The original recipe called for macadamia nuts, which I didn’t have. I was going to substitute almonds, completely forgot.

Nuts or no nuts, I’m making this again!

One response

Tell me what you think

