City Farms

Wow.

I don’t know whether to shout about this place from the roof tops or not tell a soul so I can always get a seat.

City Farms Market and Grill is a new neighborhood place that is going to be come reservation only once word gets out about their phenomenal food. The interior is simple, rustic and charming. Their menu focuses on making a few things well. I appreciate quality over quantity. The staff was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

They work hard to find ingredients from farms and sources that are open about their practices and do not rely on industrial methods to grow their products. All of their meats are free range and free of pesticides and chemicals. They support local farms, ranchers and artisanal producers.

What’s not to love?

I ordered the in-house made veggie burger on a brioche bun with a side of sweet potato tater tots. Whoa. Out of this world.

Brian had the lamb shank. It consisted of a braised lamb shank in red wine and herbs served with mashed potatoes and braised vegetables. Fall of the bone tender and the most flavorful braised vegetables I have ever tasted. The mashed potatoes were perfect, not too smooth. They were just the consistency my grandma used to make on the farm.

We couldn’t stop eating off each others plates and making “ooohhhing” and “aahhhhing” noises. Both meals were amazing.

We also each got a smoothie. I got a strawberry, banana and kale and Brian just got strawberry and banana. Both well made.

Oh, and the bill? I felt like it was miscalculated when we got it. Let’s just say that this place is extremely affordable. Brian’s plate should have been a $40 dinner, easily. Out entire check with two main courses and 2 smoothies was less well under $40. If this place goes out of business, it’s because they are giving their food away.

Oh, and did I mention that they serve drinks in mason jars? Steal my heart.