Energy crackers

Since moving to a more gluten-free life style, I occasionally miss something crunchy to eat.

I prefer flavored chips to plain. I preferred baked chips to regular. Well, after going mostly gluten-free, I learned that all flavors(not plain, but flavored) of Baked Lays contain gluten. Humph.

So, I began looking to make my own snacks. Oh She Glows posted this recipe and I was immediately smitten. No weird flours and no processed ingredients!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup chia seeds
  • 1/2 sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup pepita seeds
  • 1/2 cup sesame seeds
  • 1/4 cup flax seeds
  • 1 tablespoon poppy seeds
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 large clove garlic, finely grated
  • 1 teaspoon grated sweet onion
  • pinch of salt
  • Herbamare to taste(optional)

Preheat the oven to 325F.

Put all seeds in a big bowl.

Stir grated onion and garlic into cup of water.

Dump water into seed mixture and stir well. Add salt, Herbamare and any other spices you want, to taste.

Spread onto a parchment lined baking sheet. I used a silicone spatula and that worked well. Make crackers as thin as possible. If they are 1/4 in thick, they are way to thick…in my opinion. I want crunch!

Bake at 325F for 30 minutes.Take out of oven and cut/slice into desired shape and size. I made my into long rectangle so I could use them for dipping my raw hummus.

Carefully flip over and bake for another 25-30 minutes. Watch closely after 25 minutes as not to burn. The thinner the cracker, the faster they cook. But you probably could have figured that you. Flipping tip:I placed a silicone mat on them after slicing and quickly slipped the whole pan over. Then I transferred that silicone mat to the baking tray and finished baking them on silicone instead of parchment.

When done baking, take out of oven and allow to cool completely on pan. Store in an airtight container and enjoy!

They are the perfect energizing and nutrient packed snack with the right amount of crunch. Next time I am going to consider putting some nutritional yeast in them for a cheesy flavor.

Tell me what you think

