vegetarian bacon cheeseburger pizza

It sounds like the biggest oxymoron ever, doesn’t it? By my recent posts, it also appears that I eat pizza non-stop.

In all actuality, I rarely eat pizza because it is so unhealthy. I have been eating it more recently with the discovery of how to make a deliciously healthy pie.

My current pizza was inspired by one of my co-workers hangover meals the other day. Sluggish at work, she headed down to the Rush caf to get a “Rush burger.” A highly unhealthy choice for a health care institution. It consists of a burger on a bun topped with bacon, cheese and BBQ sauce.

Contemplating how I could make a much healthier version of the calorie monster, I came up with the idea of vegetarian bacon cheeseburger pizza.

Ingredients:

  • healthy pizza crust
  • 2 Boca burgers(or veggie burger of choice)
  • 4 slices of Morningstar vegetarian bacon
  • 1 whole pickle diced into 1/4 in pieces(I use the refridgerator brand of pickle)
  • white and orange cheese mixture(like colby jack)

Preheat oven to 400. Cook boca burgers and veggie bacon on stovetop according to directions on box. Tear/cut into bite size pieces once cooked. Set aside.

Spread BBQ sauce over crust and top with bacon, burger and pickle pieces. Top with desired amount of cheese. Cook for 20-25 minutes or until cheese is bubbly and starting to brown.

This pizza does not contain any hangover curing properties.

One response

Tell me what you think

