bread and butter pickles

I’ve made dill so why not jump to the other side of the fence and try out bread and butter? I am not personally a fan of these but Brian requested that I make them for him. Because I’m nice, I did.

Ingredients(to make one quart sized jar):

  • small or pickling cucumbers
  • 1 1/2 c distilled white vinegar
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2/3 T sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp pickling spice
  • 1/4 tsp pickling spice**

Directions:

Put tumeric and pickling spice into the bottom of the jar. 

Cut cucumbers into 1/8 to 1/4 in coins. Add coins to jar.

Bring vinegar, water, salt and sugar to a boil and let boil for two minutes. Pour over cucumbers in jar. Be careful as jar will now be very hot. Place lid on jar and swirl to mix turmeric and spices with brine. Place in refrigerator for a minimum of 24 hours.

If you can’t find pickling spice in the grocery store(like me) you can always make your own by combining 3T whole black peppercorns, 3T yellow mustard seeds, 4 tsp allspice and 1 cinnamon stick crumbled. Yields 1/2 cup. I didn’t bother to do this. Instead, I just threw a little of each of these things in the bottom on the jar.

I’ll have to have brian give you an update tomorrow on how they are, as I don’t eat them.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: A mexican fiesta and pickled onions |

Tell me what you think

