Dilly Carrots

I picked up a new magazine called Eating Well yesterday. And what did it have in it? An article about pickling!

Eating well suggested making dilly carrots. I love dill pickles, so why not?

Ingredients:

  • one pound carrots(cleaned and cut into sticks or circles)
  • 2 cups cold water
  • 1/3 cup vinegar of choice(make sure it’s at least 5% acidity)
  • 1 T sea salt
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 5 fresh peppercorns
  • 2 crushed cloves of garlic
  • fresh dill

Directions:

Combine everything but the carrots in an airtight jar. Shake or swirl around to dissolve the salt and sugar. Add carrots. Leave in fridge for two days before tasting.

The magazine suggested blanching the carrots first. I wanted to as little work as possible, so I didn’t. 24 more hours and I’ll find out how they taste.

[Edit]: So I busted into these a day early. Whoa. Delicious. I have two new favorite salty snacks in my fridge.

One response

  1. Pingback: A mexican fiesta and pickled onions |

Tell me what you think

