Xoco, Inception, Smoque and potluck game night

After getting off work and going for a quick run on Friday I headed down town to start my busy weekend.

Friday night Brian and I went to Xoco for dinner and to see Inception. Xoco is Rick Bayless’s “little sister” restaurant to Topolobampo and Frontera that serves Mexican street food. If you hear “street food” and think cheap, fast, greasy and fatty, you are wrong. Very wrong. For being there on a Friday evening we got seated quickly and… outside! Don’t be discouraged by a somewhat short menu. It’s quality not quantity. We started with chips and salsa which come with fresh-made chips and a 3-chile salsa and a tomatillo salsa. The tomatillo salsa won my heart over with a strong cilantro flavor. Then we each ordered a torta and went halvzies(one of my favorite things to do. It’s like getting to order two things). Brian got the woodland mushroom torta(wood-roasted garlic mushrooms, Prairie Fruits Farm goat cheese, black beans, wild arugula, and 3-chile salsa), while I ordered the Gunthorp chicken torta(wood-roasted red chile chicken, pickled white onion, black beans, avocado, tomatillo salsa). Both were highly delicious but I think I liked Brian’s better. Can’t wait to go back again.

After a delicious dinner we headed to see Inception. I won’t talk about it here, because I know a lot of people still haven’t seen it. I’ll just say that I want to see it again.

After hearing countless good things about Smoque and being on a unoffcial search for the city’s best BBQ, Brian and I met my friend Katie there for lunch. I’m glad we got there when we did as there was a line to the door by the time we had finished eating. I got the sliced beef brisket and B got the BBQ pulled pork and we each got a side of excellent corn bread. We split our sammies and traded halves. I liked the sliced brisket better and B liked the pulled pork. I have yet to find a place with better pulled pork than a bar in my neighborhood. I would definitely return to Smoque. I opted for dessert in the form of accessories while shopping with Katie after the BBQ. We had some great finds!

Saturday night we headed over to Jamie’s for game night! Who doesn’t love a little competition and mind-stretching games to ward of Alzheimer’s? It was a potluck and there was lots of delicious food. I think the highlight of the night was the watermelon shark one of the couples brought.

2 responses

Tell me what you think

