Quick skillet granola

I love granola. Unfortunately, it is not the most healthy thing. Yes, it has whole grains and protein and even dried fruit(sometimes), but it often has a lot of sugar, calories and fat. So, while it can be good for you in small amounts, I tend to like it larger amounts. To stop me from eating a whole batch, I decided to try out this quick skillet granola recipe.

It was a weekend morning when I decided to tackle this recipe. I tend to like deluxe breakfasts on weekends. I love fruit and yogurt, so why not top it with granola?

Adapted from Gourmet(June 2001)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup flax seeds
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1/4 cup mixed nuts
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • dried fruit

Directions:

  1. Heat a large, heavy skillet over medium-high heat.
  2. Stir all ingredients except dried fruit together in a bowl.
  3. Dump ingredients into skillet. Cook, stirring often, for about 5 minutes, or until the granola is well coated and golden.
  4. Spread out and let cool on wax paper or aluminum foil. Stir in dried fruit.

I bought a bag of mixed nut trail mix that already had raisins in it. I used a little of that in place of the mixed nuts. I was too lazy to pick out the raisins before tossing it in the skillet, so they got cooked in there too. Nothing bad happened to them. The granola wasn’t as sweet as I wanted it to be so I drizzled it with a little more honey when I put it on my fruit and yogurt. Easy and good if you don’t feel up to making a whole batch or if you need portion control.

Deluxe and delicious!

Tell me what you think

