Roasted vegetables

Sometimes I get a little overzealous in the produce section. If I was cooking for a family of 4 or 6, the amount of produce I buy would be perfectly acceptable. But really, I buy for me…and sometimes cook for Brian.

These are the vegetables I bought to be the side dish for our turkey burgers last night.

Completely acceptable for 2 people, right? I ended up not even using the butternut squash at all. I used carrots, parsnips, yellow squash, zucchini, sweet potatoes, a sweet onion and red potatoes. I also tossed in a few cloves of garlic.

For comforting roasted vegetables, heat your oven up to 400F, wash and clean all of your vegetables as necessary. Take the skins off of your potatoes if you prefer. I always leave mine on for the added nutrients. Cut all of your vegetables into about 1in pieces so they cook evenly. Toss vegetables with a few tablespoons of olive oil, salt, pepper and any other seasonings you desire. Place in single lay on pans or trays, like so:

 

 Put pans in the oven for about an hour or until veggies are fork tender and starting to brown. Here are my veggies in the oven:

Just the the right amout of veggies for two…times three.

Unfortunately, I don’t have any after pictures, but they turned out great…thank goodness, because I’ll be eating them all week.  Brian had never had a parsnip before and loved them. I think they are a very under used and delicious veggie. So, if you haven’t ever given them a chance, go out on a limb and do. These roasted veggies are a great warm, healthy and comforting food to accompany all of your fall meals.

One response

  1. We purposely cook quantities like this all the time so we have easy, delicious lunches throughout the week. It’s usually not that much effort to cook 2-3x more, and, unless it turns out really badly, you’ll be glad that you did!

Tell me what you think

