Easy butternut squash

I remember my mom making acorn squash as a kid and hating it. Ok, I don’t remember actually ever trying it, but I just knew I hated it. That memory led me to 20-some years of resistance to sweet potatoes and most squash.

A good deal(99 cents a pound for organic squash) and some curiosity led me to recently purchase a butternut squash and a spaghetti squash(upcoming post). This purchase also made me discover that I love squash.

Most recipes I found for butternut squash called for peeling and cubing it or making it into a soup. By the time I got around to cooking it,  I didn’t have the patience to do either. I decided to take matters into my own hands, do things my way and cross my fingers that they didn’t turn out to be a complete disaster.

I started by preheating the oven to 450F. I cut the butternut squash in half and made criss-cross scores in the meaty part of the squash with a knife. Dig out the small amount of strings and seeds; discard. Then, place the squash cut side up on a rimmed baking sheet. I sprinkled the squash with salt and pepper then put a decent amount of brown sugar on the top.

I popped those suckers into the oven for about 45 minutes or until fork tender all the way through.

We ate them with a spoon straight out of their skin as a very hefty side dish. Two people could easily split a half of a half. They were the perfect combination of sweet with hints of peppery goodness. Brian exclaimed, “It tastes like candy!” on his first bite. If that doesn’t convince someone to eat a vegetable, I don’t know what will.

Tell me what you think

