Hot pumpkin oats

I am the queen of quick/on the go breakfasts. I have made slow cooker oatmeal, so that I have hot oatmeal upon awakening. I have eaten my fair share of peanut butter and banana sandwiches. I embraced the fall and added pumpkin to my yogurt. And when my yogurt stash ran out and I still had some pumpkin left, I made pumpkin steel-cut oatmeal.

After learning MoreCheeseMoreChocolate’s trick for cutting down on oatmeal’s cooking time, I’ve been enjoying a lot more steel-cut oats. MCMC taught me to soak my oats overnight so that they absorb the water and soften. I just microwave it in the morning to make it hot and it tastes perfect. So, back to the too much pumpkin problem…I simply added it to my oatmeal when I heated it up and sprinkled it with some cinnamon and nutmeg. It looks a little like baby food but smells and tastes like autumn . Topping it off with some pecans or walnuts might just make it perfect.

One response

  1. I started soaking my oats when I went from quick oats to rolled oats (which I can buy in bulk and thus reduce packaging waste). I started with an overnight soak, but realized the rolled oats really only need to soak for 10 minutes, so I just start the soaking as soon as I wake up. I’ll try the overnight soaked steel-cut next. I ate quick oats for years, but now they taste so blah.

Tell me what you think

