Move over Nutella

There’s a new kid in town and his name is Cocoa Almond Butter, he goes by CAB for short. How do you get to know him? And trust me, you want to…you  make him!

I always enjoy food processing up a new spread of sorts. Usually because they are fairly fast and easy and if I screw it up I’m not out a whole lot. I tried cocoa roasted almonds sometime back and greatly enjoyed them as a nut.

I had wanted to try to make them into an almond butter much like delicious Nutella but had been hesitant because I was afraid it wouldn’t turn out well as the nuts had been previously roasted. Roasting the nuts takes away some of the oils key for making that nice smooth and creamy texture. Since I have always been on Team Chunky for peanut butters, chunky chocolate almond butter didn’t sound like too much of a disaster!

I started out by dumping about 1/2 of the container of cocoa roasted almonds into my mini food processor.

Then, I started grinding away. Or really, just holding down the button. They quickly became tiny pieces of almonds. It was clear that they weren’t going to turn into much of a spread without my help. So, in an effort to keep it on the healthier side, I skipped the oil and just added water. I added one tablespoon of water at a time.

In total I added 8 tablespoons of water to get this consistency. Every time I added more water, I also had to taste test. I didn’t want it getting too watered down tasting and would add oil if I needed to. Fortunately I didn’t have to. The chocolate almond combination naturally reminded me of an Almond Joy. Which almost caused me to add coconut into the mix during a brief moment of weakness. Then it hit me. I knew exactly what this tasted like. My favorite ice cream concoction as a child. An Almond Joy “blizzard” from Scottie’s Dairy Bar. In elementary school we would get our mom’s to write us lunch passes and we would walk to Scottie’s and get hot dogs with schredded cheese on top of them and ice cream. It was my favorite ice cream treat. Chocolate ice cream with almonds and coconut in it. And that says a lot, because I am a vanilla ice cream girl and don’t really even like ice cream. Sorry, back to the CAB!

Keep in mind that I like mine on the chunkier side. After the water was added and almonds ground down I ended up with 6-7 ounces of amazing CAB. I almost blurted out expletives when I tasted it. It’s amazing on a banana and I can’t wait to mix a little in with my oatmeal. I have a feeling that this will be a constant in my fridge!

And smartly disguised in a hummus container so others don’t find it too quickly!

One response

Tell me what you think

