Toasted sesame roasted vegetables and S’mores cracked wheat

A few weekends ago, I was fortunate enough to go away for a girls’ weekend to Door County, Wisconsin. I enjoyed going for long runs on their confusing and winding roads that made my runs even longer. And headed to Cave Point to check out the caves, do some trail walking and enjoyed taking in the cool fall weather. We did our share of eating, too!

My personal rule is that I can drink all the fountain pop on road trips that I want. First stop, fountain pop:

Our next stop was at the local Piggly Wiggly to pick up produce and other fixin’s to make dinner. Long, slow, vacation mornings also call for hot breakfasts. I’m a huge fan of steel cut oatmeal, but when I saw cracked wheat on the shelf, I decided to give it a chance. It’ really not that far off from oatmeal, but after a night of roasting marshmallows over the fire, I was inspired to make s’mores cracked wheat.

For my s’mores cracked wheat, I cooked 1/2 cup of the cracked wheat according to the stove top directions on the box. Then I added in a tablespoon of hot cocoa mix and broke up 2 large marshmallows into 4 pieces each. Stir it all in to the cooked crack wheat. A highly tasty and hot breakfast!

After breakfast, we headed to Cave Point to check out a lot of rocks, caves and go on a nice trail walk.

For dinner the first night we had amazing bone-in pork chops, salad and roasted vegetables tossed with toasted sesame olive oil. This olive oil tasted amazing on the veggies and is a local specialty. We went to the Oilerie and were able to sample several of their one of a kind oils. My favorite were the truffle, hazelnut, toasted sesame and the sun-dried tomato.

Getting the coals ready:

Pork chops before the grill(sorry, there are no “after” pictures. They were too good and we gobbled them up!):

Roasting the veggies:

Wow, were they amazing with the toasted sesame oil!

And it wouldn’t have been a proper lake house dinner without wine in a coffee mug(a light house coffee mug to keep in theme with the weekend)!

Incase you aren’t completely bored with this post, I’ll add a few more pictures of the lake and the light house.

Tell me what you think

