Sweet potato biscuits

Brian and I celebrated our one year anniversary yesterday. Instead of going out to some over-priced and cheesy restaurant, I used the opportunity to cook.

The menu included bleu cheese crusted filets, roasted Brussels sprouts, sweet potato biscuits and cannoli cheesecake. You’ll be getting the recipes in 4 installments and I’m starting with the biscuits today(a recipe adapted from Paula Deen). They were probably my favorite part of the meal.

Since the recipe calls for 3/4 cup of sweet mashed potatoes and I didn’t have any on hand, I started by boiling one large sweet potato. And preheating the oven to 425F.

While the potatoes were busy boiling, I sifted together 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, 2 heaping tablespoons sugar, 4 teaspoons baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Set aside.

 

After the potatoes boiled until tender, I drained and mashed them:

I could tell that this big spud made more than my needed 3/4 cup, so I measured them out.

I ate the remainder of the mashed sweet’s as a side to my lunch and put the 3/4 cup back in the pan and combined it with 1/4 cup softened butter. Yep, the butter is what makes it a Paula Deen recipe.

Add the buttery potato mixture to your ingredients and mix to make a soft dough.

After the dough has started to form, you can add one tablespoon of milk at a time until dough is moist enough. I used 2% milk. I’m sure Paula really wanted me to use whole milk or heavy cream, but I just couldn’t do it. I only needed to add one tablespoon and my dough was plenty moist. The recipe says you can add up to 4 tablespoons, if necessary.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and toss lightly until the outside of the dough looks smooth.

Roll the dough out into 1/4 to 1/2 inch thickness and cut with a biscuit cutter.

Place the biscuits on a greased pan.

Coat tops with melted butter. Can you tell which one has been brushed with melted butter and which one hasn’t?

Bake for 12-15 minutes. Watch your oven: If the biscuits are browning too fast, lower the temperature. Yields 15-20 biscuits.

I ate them plain as they were so moist and delicious, but I’m sure they would be amazing drizzled with honey or maple syrup. I will definitely be making these again.

One response

  1. Pingback: Bleu cheese crusted filet and roasted Brussels sprouts « Spatoola

Tell me what you think

