Martha Stewart’s body scrub

I like Martha Stewart. I don’t love her, but I like her.  I can also get fairly jealous that every crafting and cooking project she attempts turns out perfectly. Mine do not. Not by a long shot. Usually…

I was on her website the other day and saw an article about “80 Gifts you can make for her.” I started clicking through them and saw several neat ideas that didn’t seem to complicated or expensive.

What did I decide to make myself? A 4-ingredient body scrub. Lately, I have been hooked on Lush products. Unfortunately, some of them are pretty pricey. Like the last tub of body scrub I bought was about 6 oz and was around $20.

I took of to my local Whole Foods and Michael’s to pick up everything I needed:

  • 2 cups organic cane sugar
  • 1 cup carrier oil
  • essential oil(scent of your choice)
  • container to store finished product
  • food coloring(optional)

I was a little nervous about the “warm sticky bun” essential oil scent that I chose. The selection of scents to choose from was lacking or bordering on just plain weird. I felt this sugary, vanillay scent was the safest bet.

Put two cups of organic cane sugar in a bowl. Added in one cup of carrier oil and mixed.

What is a carrier oil? I had no idea. I had to Google it and Wikipedia came to the rescue. I chose to use some organic Canola oil. I figured it would be one of the most scent-neutral oils and it’s rather inexpensive.

Martha says to add in 8-10 drops of essential oil with a pipette. I don’t own a pipette and wasn’t going to buy one. I figured I could rely on my steady hand.

I added about 10 drops and still couldn’t smell anything, so I just kept adding until it smelled to my liking. I probably added 20-25 drops. Then I stirred it all in and transferred it to an airtight glass container. I wanted to be able to leave it in my shower without water getting into it.

I used it today for the first time. Wow, did it make my skin soft and moist. It definitely leaves a light layer of oil on the top of your skin, but it might be just the thing that saves my skin during the brutal midwestern winters.

Oh, and the smell? Fabulous.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Cozy cowl scarf « Spatoola

  2. Pingback: Get glowing for 2012 |

Tell me what you think

