Crustless quiche

My mom sent me a recipe for a crustless spinach quiche. Which I meant to make….but I went to the grocery store twice and managed to pick up everything but the spinach. Also, the recipe involves cottage cheese, which made me a little leery. Don’t be scared, it cooks down and melts in so that you never know it’s in there.  I substituted portabella mushrooms, artichokes and black olives for the spinach and made it healthier by chosing the healthier versions of some of the ingredients.  It turned out awesome. I ate it everyday for about a week and can’t wait to make it again.

Preheat your oven to 325F. Spray a 9×13 pan with non stick spray. Set aside.

Chop up whatever vegetables that you want in the quiche. I threw in about a pint of sliced baby portabellas, one jar of artichoke quarters(drained and roughly chopped), 1/4 cup diced onion and about 12 black olives(roughly chopped).

In a bowl mix together 2 cups of low-fat shredded sharp cheddar cheese, one 16oz package of fat-free cottage cheese, one 16oz carton of liquid egg whites and your vegetables.

I also added in a little freshly ground black pepper, probably 1-2 teaspoons. Combine well and pour in to 9×13 pan.

Bake in oven for 45 minutes or until set in the middle. Let stand for 10 minutes and cut into slices. Enjoy cheesy, eggy goodness.

One response

  1. Pingback: Other happenings in the kitchen « Spatoola

Tell me what you think

