Thai Chili

I can eat soup for every meal in the fall and winter. So, it comes as no surprise that I have been tearing soup recipes out of magazines right and left lately. I found two easy, filling and delicious recipes in the latest issue of Clean Eating magazine. While, I don’t eat “clean,” I have found several good recipes in their magazine.

I saw this Thai chili recipe and had to try it. I changed it up a little, so I’ll give you my version. In the future I would add some chili powder or chili’s to make it spicy and maybe a little garlic for kick.

For starters, take your favorite soup pot and put it over low heat on your stove top. Add in 1 1/2 tsp of red curry paste, one tsp of cumin and 1/4 cup vegetable broth. Mash and combine until smooth. 

Then, add in 3 3/4 cup of vegetable broth, one diced medium sweet potato, one diced medium green bell pepper,  and 1/2 cup of either bulgur, cracked wheat or quinoa. I used cracked wheat because that is what I had on hand. Mix together. Turn heat up to high until mixture boils. When soup begins to boil, cover pot tightly and turn down to med-low. Let simmer for 10 minutes.

After 10 minutes, remove lid. Add in two cans of dark red kidney beans(drained), 2 cups crushed or pureed tomatoes (tomato sauce will work in a pinch), and 1/2 cup of light coconut milk. Stir. Cook about 7 more minutes until cracked wheat is tender and soup is thick. Season with black pepper. 

 Serve in bowl and sprinkle with scallions.

One response

  1. Pingback: Curried Chicken and Cauliflower Soup « Spatoola

Tell me what you think

