Slow cooker pot roast

In the cold days of winter a midwestern girl needs some comfort food to warm her up. I remember eating many a pot roast on my grandparent’s farm, so it has fond memories attached to it. I don’t remember particularly liking it as a small child, mostly because there were always onions with it. As I’ve grown older, I’ve learned to like onions and along with it, pot roast. So, I got a hankering to make a roast as the temperatures plummeted. I came home late from work one night and threw it in the crock pot so it would cook while I slept and I would have lunch to take to work the next day. It was the perfect plan. I came up with this concoction by combining several recipes that I looked up online and my vague memories of how my mom and grandma made it. In the bottom of the crock pot I combined a 20 oz bottle of Coke, 1/2 cup warm water and one packet of powdered beefy onion soup mix.

 All the recipes I saw called for regular onion soup mix but when I saw the beefy version at the grocery store, I couldn’t resist. I really don’t think it made any difference. All of the recipes I saw only called for a 12 oz can of Coke, but the grocery store didn’t sell single cans so I poured it all in. Mix the liquids and powder together as best you can. Mine didn’t combine all that well, probably because the Coke was cold.

 

Dump in 4-5 medium red potatoes(chopped), one medium yellow onion(sliced) and 1/2 pound of baby carrots. For herbs, I threw in unmeasured, but probably close to one tsp of each: thyme, rosemary and bay leaf.
Oh, and a GIANT clove of garlic. See… No, really. Compare it to the size of the baby carrots: 

Rub your 3-4 pound roast with salt and pepper. Nestle the roast amongst the vegetables and scoop up liquid and pour over the top of the roast until coated.

Put lid on crock pot and cook on low for 8-10 hours or high for 5-6.  Let the wonderful aromas fill your house.

If you cook your roast overnight, wake up to the joy of knowing that a meal is already fixed for the day and you’ll have lots of leftovers for days to come.

Tell me what you think

