Cheater chicken pot pie

Why do I call this “cheater chicken pot pie”?

Well, it uses a lot of pre-made or pre-prepared ingredients  and it’s healthy.  So, it’s definitely not your traditional chicken pot pie.

Start off by preheating your oven to 325F. Heat a pan on your stove top over medium heat.

I diced one small onion and sliced about eight baby portabellas. I sprayed the pan with a healthy dose of non-stick spray and put in the onion and mushroom to cook on one side of the pan.  On the other side of the pan, I put in one pound of chicken breast.

Once the veggies and the chicken are cooked, remove the chicken and dice or shred. Return to pan.

Add one 98% fat-free can of condensed cream of chicken soup. Use the soup can to measure 1/2 of the can worth of skim milk and add to the pan. Stir soup and milk with the veggies and chicken until soup mixture is smooth.

Next, add in a 16oz bag of frozen vegetables. Stir to evenly disperse vegetables. Season with salt, pepper and any other seasonings you desire. I added a bay leaf.

Since the pan I was using can go from stove top straight into the oven, I saved myself cleaning another dish and just did that…but not before I added the crust. Did I labor over a homemade crust? Nope. I opened up a pre-made pie crust(let warm to room temperature), poked holes in it and set it on top.

I popped it in the oven for about 45 minutes or until crust is browned.

 Cut into pieces and serve up some warmth in a bowl.

One response

  1. Pingback: Around the kitchen |

Tell me what you think

