Spicy turkey chili

I had the privilege of eating my dad’s chili while I was home. My dad must have forgotten that his birthday is coming up, as he forgot to send chili back to Chicago with me. Since I didn’t have any of his to eat, I was forced to make my own.

When looking for recipes, I knew that I wanted it to be a little spicy and healthy. And in the words of my late uncle, “When you are eating chili, you shouldn’t be able to see the bottom of the bowl.” This is an easy slow cooker recipe I came up with based on a variety of different recipes I had seen online.

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds lean ground turkey
  • 1 15 oz can of chili beans(either medium or hot spiciness), undrained
  • 1 15oz can of kidney beans, drained
  • 1 15 oz can of black beans, drained
  • 3 15oz cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes
  • 2 medium onions, finely chopped
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 7-8 jalapeno slices(optional)
  • 2 T chili powder
  • 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 T ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp ground allspice
  • pinch black pepper
  • salt to taste
  • 1/2 cup water

Directions:

Dice onion and mince garlic. Spray pan with non-stick spray and brown turkey, onion and garlic together. Drain grease off of meat.

In slow cooker, dump in all other ingredients and stir together to combine. Add in turkey cooked with onion and garlic. Stir together. Cook on low heat for 8-12 hours or high 4-6.

That’s a lot of beans!

It’s starting to get spicy, but I think we need to turn up the heat…

Some jalapenos should do the trick!

That is one very full slow cooker! Time to cook it, nice and slow…

Fully cooked 10 hours later!

The two pounds of turkey is A LOT of meat. Next time, I’ll be trimming it down to one pound. Definitely a very filling chili with a nice kick.

Tell me what you think

