Brie en Croute De-LUX

I could have made the title of this: Dried cherries, pecan and rosemary brie en croute, but I felt like that was a little long and didn’t do this justice. This is by far the best Brie en Croute I have ever had. Three people finished off an entire wheel of brie as an appetizer to a dinner. It is also an incredibly easy and impressive appetizer to make.

Soften 1/3 cup of dried cherries. Simply soak them in hot water for a minute or two, then drain off the excess water.

Preheat oven to 400F. Thaw one puff pastry sheet. Lay puff pastry sheet out on a well-greased pan.

In a bowl, mix together the soften cherries, 1/4 cup toasted pecan, 1/4 cup honey, 1/4 teaspoon fresh rosemary leaves. I didn’t have fresh rosemary, so I used dried. Not as effective but worked in a pinch.

Spread this mixture on the center of the puff pastry.

Top the mixture with a wheel of brie.

Fold edges of pastry up around the brie to make an envelope, sealing the brie and cherry mixture inside. Tear or cut off any extra pastry.  The recipe said to brush the edges of the pastry with egg mixture to seal up the pastry, but I didn’t have an egg on hand and water worked fine. Turn brie over so that sealed edges are underneath. The recipe said to brush entire pastry with the egg mixture at this point. Again, no egg mixture, no brushing.

Put it in the oven for 20-25 minutes until it is deep golden brown. Then let it set for 45 minutes before serving. This may have been the most perfect part of the recipe. I had about 30 minutes to travel to the dinner party I was going to, so my appetizer finished itself on the way to dinner and I arrived with a warm appetizer. Perfect.

I sliced up some honeycrisp apples and used a package of entertaining crackers to dip in the molten cheese mixture.

I liked it on the apples best and made me feel a little less guilty about consuming large amounts of cheese. The cherries, pecans, honey and rosemary mixture was amazing. We couldn’t stop “ooooh-ing and ahhhh-ing” as we managed to devour the entire thing.

One response

  1. Pingback: 3 Berry Tart « Spatoola

Tell me what you think

