Pretzel bread

About a week ago one of my Facebook friends had a status that she was eating mushroom, jalapeno, onion and garlic pretzel bread. What? Was this a magical creation I didn’t know about? I immediately had to ask where she got it, or if she made it, I needed the recipe. Desperately. Lucky for me, she had made it!!! So, within a few days, I had also made it. It is TO DIE FOR!

I am going to post the recipe exactly as she sent it to me with my pictures added in.

Ingredients:

4 teaspoons active dry yeast
1 teaspoon white sugar
1 cups warm water
5 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup white sugar
3 teaspoons salt
3 tablespoon vegetable oil

1/2 cup baking soda
4 cups hot water
1/4 cup kosher salt, for topping

Directions

In a small bowl, dissolve yeast and 1 teaspoon sugar in warm water. Let stand until creamy, about 10 minutes.


In a large bowl, mix together flour, 1/2 cup sugar, and salt. Make a well in the center; add the oil and yeast mixture.

 Mix and form into a dough. If the mixture is dry, add one or two tablespoons of water. Knead the dough until smooth, about 7 to 8 minutes. Lightly oil a large bowl, place the dough in the bowl and turn to coat with oil.

Cover with plastic wrap and let rise in a warm place until doubled in size, about 1 hour.
Preheat oven to 450 degrees F (230 degrees C). In a large bowl, dissolve baking soda in hot water.


When risen, turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and divide into 12 equal pieces.

Roll each piece into a rope and twist into a pretzel shape. Once all of the dough is all shaped, let rise 30 minutes (second rising optional but recommended). Then dip each pretzel into the baking soda solution and place on a greased baking sheet. Sprinkle with kosher salt.

Bake in preheated oven for 10 minutes, until browned.

I like to use the above recipe with a few add-ins once in a while. I saute mushrooms, jalapeno, onions, and garlic until tender. I get rid of excess moisture (otherwise the pretzels end up soft and extra moist instead of crisping…which really isn’t so bad either). I then add a bit of blue cheese and stir in with yeast mix before flour is added. I usually mold into small roll sizes and use as sandwich bread.

Back to my blogging…I attempted to make one of them into a pretzel shape, but my dough didn’t rise very well and I think it might have been a little dry. I also didn’t let it rise a second time as I was running short on time. They still turned out amazingly delicious, though.

I sautéed jalapeno, onions and garlic for half of the batch and made half plain. Beware when sauteing the jalapeno that it releases the oils into the air and might make your boyfriend’s eyes sting and water. The spicy ones were by far both of our favorites and made sandwiches on them.

One response

  1. Pingback: Maifest « Spatoola

Tell me what you think

