Guest blog: Crispy chicken with golden raisin and butternut squash compote

First of all, I need to thank Stacey for the incredible opportunity to write for Spatoola. I’ve enjoyed reading and cooking many of her recipes, and I’m glad she enjoys my food enough to ask me to write a guest post for her blog.

This January, I had the pleasure of cooking dinner for Stacey and Brian while I was in Chicago for an away elective. Knowing that Stacey and Brian are experienced foodies with discriminative taste buds, and keeping in mind their healthy cooking styles, I looked high and low for a recipe that was both healthy and tasty. Unfortunately, this excluded many of my recipes from Ina Garten, but I eventually discovered this gem from Food and Wine Magazine:

Crispy Chicken with Golden Raisin and Butternut Squash Compote (adapted from Food and Wine Magazine):

1 tablespoon olive oil
6 chicken thighs with skin
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
5 oz butternut squash, peeled and diced into 1/2 inch cubes (1 cup)
1 large shallot, minced
1/2 granny smith apple, peeled, cored, and diced into 1/2 inch cubes
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1 1/4 cups of golden raisins (1/2 lb)
1/2 cup of dry white wine
2 tablespoons honey
2 tsp chopped thyme
Salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 350. In an ovenproof nonstick skillet, heat the oil over high heat. Season the chicken liberally with salt and pepper and add to the skillet, skin side down

If you prefer a healthier alternative, you can leave off the skin and use nonstick cooking oil. Cook until skin is crisp, about 5 minutes.

Turn the chicken and transfer the skillet to the oven and roast for 6 minutes, or until cooked through. Rest for 5 minutes before serving.

Meanwhile, in a skillet, melt the butter. Add the butternut squash, cover, and cook over moderate heat until almost tender, around 3 minutes. Add the shallot and cook for 1 minute.

Add the apple, cinnamon, and cayenne and cook for an additional minute. 

Add the raisins, wine, honey, and thyme and cook until wine is almost evaporated.

Season with salt and pepper and serve with the chicken thighs.

The original recipe recommended serving with buttered farro with chives. Instead, I chose to make buttered mashed potatoes with chives, which was a tasty alternative and satisfied my appetite for empty carbohydrates.

I think everyone had seconds, and we finished off the meal with Stacey’s delicious triple berry tart and a bottle of Riesling. Delicious!

I would like to thank Aaron for taking the time to cook for Brian and I and to guest blog for Spatoola. We had a wonderful time and left with happy and full bellies.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Chocolate peanut butter pie « Spatoola

  2. Hello Sir,

    Read Of Your Blog About Guest Blog- Crispy Chicken With Golden Raisin And Butternut Squash Compote I Would Like To Say You Are Great Chef In The World.I Like Your Blog.Really Its Brilliant.

    Thanks

Tell me what you think

