Lemony, peppery and mustardy tuna pita

image

For a quick and easy dinner tonight I fixed a light and lemony tuna pita. I’ve never been a fan of the heavy mayo based salads that people love to put on sandwiches, I much prefer this version.

I use 3-4 tablespoons of yellow mustard, juice of 1/2  lemon and a generous amount of fresh black pepper, per 3 oz of tuna. You can also add in diced onion and celery for flavor and crunch. I didn’t have any with me tonight(I was making dinner at work). You can also add in a little olive oil for a smoother taste.

Cut one whole wheat pita in half. Spread 1-2 tablespoons lemon hummus inside of each pita. Divide tuna mixture evenly between two pita halves. Add lettuce, tomato, cucumber and diced red pepper to each half. The hummus adds great flavor and depth to the pita and doubles as a glue to help hold in the veggies.

Tell me what you think

