Peanut butter pancakes

After going for a run yesterday morning, I wanted breakfast and not just any breakfast. I wanted a hot breakfast. It was cold and wet outside and the ground was covered in a thin layer of freezing rain. I’m sure the ground would have been covered by my body, if not for the great invention of Yak Trax to keep me on my feet.

Thanks to Tastespotting I spotted these tasty cakes the other day. Just the thing to motivate me to go for a run in the cold. Who wouldn’t want to come home to the reward of peanut butter pancakes? Well, maybe someone with a peanut allergy.

I adapted these from This Homemade Life…

Combine in a medium bowl:

  • 3/4 cup white flour
  • 1/2 cup wheat flour(you can use all white flour, but I added in wheat to make them healthier)
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

In microwave safe bowl:

  • 1 1/4 cup milk(I used skim)
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter

The original recipe says to stir the milk and peanut butter together until smooth. Maybe I was too hungry and impatient, but I could not get them to combine. So, I heated up the milk and pb in the microwave for 30 seconds at a time to bring the milk to slightly warmer than room temperature. This really helped them to combine.

Once combined, add to the dry ingredients and beat just until a batter is formed.

Lightly oil a saute pan over medium heat. Pour batter into pan by 1/4 cupfuls. Cook until golden brown on both sides.  Serve immediately or keep warm in 200F oven.

I cut up one black bean brownie and topped Brian’s pancakes with it, because I know how much he likes peanut butter and chocolate together.

I added little chunks of banana to the batter as I poured it in the skillet for my pancakes and topped them with more slices of banana.

These pancakes are awesome and so easy to make. The recipe makes about 12 4-inch pancakes. I have left overs to eat for breakfast tomorrow!

Tell me what you think