Easy egg bakes: The perfect breakfast in 10 minutes or less

I used to hate breakfast. Fortunately, I had a mom who understood the importance of breakfast and would make my brother and I eat breakfast everyday. Even if it was in the form of S’mores Poptarts. In recent years, I have come to love breakfast. I have come to prefer a savory breakfast to sweet. For example, Brian and I went to Flat Top’s make your own breakfast on Sunday and I had an egg white omelette with tons of veggies. Brian had pancakes with Reese’s peanut butter cups and coconut.

Combining my love for eggs and simple but delicious recipes, I couldn’t wait to make a variation of Shutterbean’s Egg and Asparagus Gratins.

For starters, I needed to get gratin dishes. Lucky for me, they had them at the local Dollar Tree…one dollar for a ceramic gratin dish. Yessiree. I love a bargain.

Pre-heat oven to 450.

Next up, generously spray gratin dishes with non-stick spray. Then, I sliced up some ham steak and divided it among the dishes. Add spices and herbs. I added a little salt, pepper and dill to each dish. 

Then I added 2 eggs to each gratin. Shutterbean recommends adding cream, but I didn’t have any, so I didn’t. 

I topped the eggs with  some feta and parmesan cheese. Place on a baking sheet and cook for 6-8 minutes or until the eggs are done to your liking.

Enjoy a nice hot breakfast. This is almost the perfect, easy breakfast dish to me. Easy to customize with different meats, veggies, cheeses and spices…so many possibilities. You can also make them the night before, refrigerate and bake in the morning. How nice would it to be to preheat your oven before you shower. Pop in the gratin while you get ready and have a complete, hot breakfast before you head out the door? Well, it would be nice.

One response

  1. Pingback: Maifest « Spatoola

Tell me what you think

