Huevos Ranchero’s cousin

I love Huevos Rancheros. It’s almost a sure bet that if it’s on a brunch menu, that is what I’ll be ordering.

My plan for breakfast this morning was to make huevos rancheros. Unfortunately, not doing a full pantry assessment first caused me to make several adjustments. Fortunately, it was still a very tasty breakfast.

I heated up some small flour tortillas in the microwave to soften them. This was the first adjustment, as I would have much rather had corn tortillas. Then I heated up some refried beans and smeared them on the tortillas. Sprinkle the beans with a little bit of Mexican cheese blend or your preferred cheese. Then top with a fried egg and some cilantro. I drizzled a healthy dose of hot sauce on mine. Then, pick up and eat like a taco. A very tasty taco. This is a very easy and nutritious breakfast that is fast to make.

One response

  1. YUM! I make something like this too! My favorite is to warm the tortillas in a pan, then put on the beans and an egg that’s undercooked, then the cheese and stick it under the broiler until everything is happy then top with salsa and cilantro.

Tell me what you think

