Tahini-lemon kale salad

I like kale. I like kale chips. I like pasta bakes with kale. And now, I like kale salad. I also like that kale is considered to be the most nutritious vegetable in the world.

So, when More Cheese More Chocolate posted a recipe for Kale Salad with Tahini-Lemon dressing, I knew I would be picking up a bunch of kale on my next trip to the store.

And so I did. And what a very good decision that was. This salad if hearty and refreshing. And the best thing? You can make it and it stays good for a few days because the kale doesn’t go limp easily.

Dressing:

  • juice of one lemon(2-3 tablespoons)
  • 2-3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2-3 tablespoons tahini
  • 1-2 minced garlic cloves(I substituted roasted garlic)
  • pinch of red pepper flakes
  • salt and pepper to taste

Mix ingredients together in a small bowl. Taste and adjust ingredients to your liking.

Tear leaves of washed kale into bite-sized pieces, discarding stems. I used about 2/3 of a large bunch of kale. I would have used the whole bunch, but my bowl was full.

Pour dressing over kale and mix until leaves are coated but not saturated.

Wait at least 20 minutes to eat. I refrigerated mine at this point and didn’t eat until the next day. Then, I ate some more the next day. And the next. By day 3 it was getting a little wimpy for me, but still very tasty.

This salad will become a frequent side at my house.

One response

  1. Too funny — I just saw Kirsten’s recipe and made this last night. We had fresh fennel from our garden, so I added some of that, and omitted the red pepper flakes. I wasn’t quite happy with the results, so I added a few dashes of pear-flavored balsamic and then topped our servings with dried cranberries — perfect!

Tell me what you think

