Rhubarb Bread

After moving, I hit up my new neighborhood’s farmer’s market. Sad that I had almost entirely missed rhubarb season, I bought some of the last of it. I used to love eating it fresh dipped in sugar on my grandparents farm when I was younger. Most people who eat fresh rhubarb fall into one of two categories: salt or sugar as your dip.

Brian had never eaten rhubarb before, so I washed and cut some into sticks and brought out a little sugar. I warned him that it was tart, but he took one bite and has never made such an awful face. At first I thought it was from the show Bridezilla’s that was on TV, because those girls behavior is repulsive, but then I realized it was the rhubarb. He then yelled, “Is this a joke?” Not initially a fan of the rhubarb, he eventually warmed up to it when dipped in enough sugar.

To further convince him of its deliciousness, I made a loaf of rhubarb bread. That is what really converted him to a rhubarb lover.

Recipe adapted from allrecipes.com:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/8 cup liquid egg
  • 1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup chopped rhubarb
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325F. Lightly grease one 9x5x3 loaf pan.
  2. In a small bowl, stir together milk, vanilla and lemon juice. Let stand for 10 minutes.
  3. In a large bowl, mix together brown sugar, oil and egg. 
  4. In another bowl, combine flour, salt and baking soda.
  5. Alternate adding the flour mixture and the milk mixture in to the sugar mixture until just combined. 
  6. Fold in rhubarb and nuts. 
  7. Pour into a loaf pan. 
  8. Bake 40-50 minutes or until tooth pick inserted into center of loaf comes out clean. 
  9. Cool, slice and enjoy.
2 responses

  1. Pingback: Other happenings in the kitchen « Spatoola

  2. Pingback: Not your mama’s banana bread |

Tell me what you think

