Chicken enchiladas

I love Mexican food. I could eat it everyday. Surprisingly, I have never made enchiladas. I decided that needed to change last week.

I was planning on actually making them, but when I went to the cupboard to pull out the corn tortillas and they were looking a little funky on one side. So, I punted. I cut them in half to save the good halves and made an enchilada bake. I’m so glad that I did. It was awesome. Brian and I were practically racing each other to the fridge for the leftovers.

I started by cooking about 1 pound of chicken in a combination of chicken broth, 4-5 jalapeno slices and 2-3 garlic cloves. When the chicken is fully cooked, I shredded it. This made the chicken very flavorful with a little kick.

Mix shredded chicken with one cup of black beans, one cup of corn, half cup of shredded cheese(I used a Mexican blend), and 5-6 diced jalapeno slices.

Grab a 9×13 pan and put 1/2 of the chicken, corn and bean mixture in the bottom of the pan. Then place a layer of corn tortillas on top of that. Pour salsa verde on top of that. Then, the rest of chicken mixture, another layer of tortillas and more salsa verde.

I places several jalapeno slices on half of the cassarole as I like food a little spicier than Brian. Cover the top with cheese.

Bake at 350F for 25-35 minutes, until cheese is nice and melted. Cut into 8 pieces and enjoy.

Tell me what you think

