Ground turkey: two ways

Brian and I eat a lot of ground turkey. It’s healthy and inexpensive. Alone, it doesn’t have a ton of flavor, but adapts to other flavors well.

The other day, I made standard turkey burgers by forming the meat into patties and adding some seasoning salt. I jazzed them up a little by topping them with bleu cheese and slices of avocado. Yum. Sautéed zucchini always makes a great side.

A combination of getting a bit tired of several types of turkey burgers and missing cooking over the fire at summer camp from years gone by, I decided to make turkey sloppy joes or sloppy turkey-o’s. I cooked the ground turkey with some diced onion on the stove top. Drain any fat off. Then I added ketchup, mustard, bbq sauce, garlic powder, salt and pepper.

Stir in, continue to cook a little longer.

Place on bun and top however you desire. It’s tasty and takes me back to younger days.

Oh, and definitely make these fries to go with. Recipe to come soon.

Tell me what you think

