Easy pasta salad

Summer isn’t complete without eating some cold pasta salad. I’m a fan of tangy, not creamy pasta salad. I use a very simple recipe that satisfies my need for some pasta salad.

I start off my boiling half a box of noodles of choice. Boil until al dente. I had a box of high fiber elbow noodles on hand, so that is what I used.

While the noodles are cooking, finely chop up what ever vegetables you want in your pasta. I used a combination of zucchini, summer squash, yellow bell pepper, celery and carrots. Sometimes, I’ll add in olives and tomatoes as well. I like a high ratio of veggies to noodles.

When you noodles are al dente, put them in a strainer and continuously run under cold water until noodles cool. Drain excess water out. Pour into big bowl.

Add 2 tablespoons olive oil over noodles, 10 tables spoons fat-free caesar italian dressing, and veggies. Stir to combine. I like the caesar italian dressing because it has a lot of good flavors and herbs in it, including a nice flavor of parmesan cheese. Flavor with salt and pepper if you like.

I like to let it sit for at least 30 minutes to really let the flavors marry.

This recipe made seven 1-cup servings at 4 weight watchers points plus per serving.

Tell me what you think

