Chicken tacos

I would die happy if I ate Mexican food everyday. I would also die young and weighing in at 800 pounds. So, today for lunch I made a nice light version of chicken tacos and chicken taco salad.

Ingredients:

  • 2 oz chicken(cooked) per taco
  • corn tortillas
  • cilantro, chopped
  • avocado, diced
  • salsa
  • lettuce
  • fat-free Greek yogurt(acting as sour cream)
  • lime

Brian wanted tacos. I wanted taco salad.

I made Brian 3 tacos by putting out 3 corn shells. Add lettuce, a smear of greek yogurt, diced avocado, spoonful of salsa and some chopped cilantro. Top with cut up or shredded chicken. Serve with lime wedge on the side.

 

For the taco salad, start with a bed of lettuce, Top with a scoop of Greek yogurt, salsa, chopped cilantro, 1/4 avocado(diced) and torn up pieces of tortilla. Top with 4-6 ounces of chicken and a couple wedges of lime to squeeze on top. I mix the salsa and yogurt together to make a nice light dressing for the salad as I toss all the ingredients together.

I have to give a shout out to this salsa. It is AMAZING. River Valley Kitchens is doing something good. We love it. It is one that we picked up at our local farmer’s market recently. We might go tonight to pick up another jar. You can also order it online and they make great homemade veggie burgers and lots of other products.

Tell me what you think

