Stuffed Cuban pork tenderloin

I love a good Cuban sandwich. This looked like a slightly healthier alternative. I would give this recipe a 6 out of 10. I blame myself for much of that. It’s only a 5 ingredient recipe, to which I thought I owned all of them. Well, when I went to the fridge, my cilantro was bad and the jar of bread and butter pickles went mysteriously missing. Oh, and that jar of dijon mustard that I was convinced was in the cupboard…Brian informed me that we’ve never owned any.

So………

Ingredients:

  • 1 teaspoon coriander seeds, crushed
  • 2 tablespoons mustard
  • 1/3 cup sweet relish (or diced bread and butter pickles)
  • 3 slices of swiss cheese
  • 1 pound pork tenderloin, trimmed
  • salt and pepper

Preheat your oven to 425F.

Cut a lengthwise slit down the center of the tenderloin two-thirds of the way through the meat. Open halves, laying tenderloin flat:

Place plastic wrap over pork loin and pound out meat to 1/2 inch thickness:

Spread mustard on top of meat:

Spread relish in a wide row on top of mustard:

Tear slices of swiss cheese in half and place over surface:

Roll the tenderloin up and tie  it up about every inch and a half:

Season the outside of the tenderloin with salt, pepper and the crushed coriander seeds. Brown the tenderloin on all sides in a hot skillet on the stove top.

Once browned on all sides, place on a lightly greased pan and place in the oven. Bake about 11 minutes on each side.

Once cooked all the way through, slice and serve with Cuban beans, or side of your choice.

One response

Tell me what you think

