Roasted banana walnut bread

I’m not a big fan of heating up the oven to cook just one thing. So after making Brian cheesy chili mac with a corn bread crust for dinner, I decided to make a loaf of banana bread. Overripe bananas and a hot oven seemed like the perfect combination. Cheesy chili mac…mmmm…

So, I took to the world wide web for a banana bread recipe. I decided upon adapting the recipe for Flour’s Famous Banana Bread from Flour Bakery in Boston. I really wasn’t going to change much. Just roast the bananas and use some wheat flour, but then I made it even more healthy by omitting the oil. No, it wasn’t on purpose. I’ll explain as I go.

Ingredients:

  • 1 2/3 cups wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup oil(yes, you need to add it in)
  • 4 medium bananas, roasted
  • 2 tablespoons sour cream
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cups walnuts, toasted and chopped

Since the oven’s already hot, why not roast the bananas for a more intense flavor? Heat oven to 400F. Slice bananas into 1 inch slices on a lightly greased sheet. Roast for about 30 minutes.

Let cool for a few minutes, scoop into bowl and mash with a fork. Set aside.

Lower oven to 350F for bread.

Combining the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt in a large bowl.

In a separate bowl, whisk together sugar and 2 eggs for about 10 minutes until light and fluffy. Drizzle in oil. This is exactly the point where I forgot to add in the oil. I had been whisking and whisking and my arm was getting really tired. Oh, and I was getting really hot and had to take off my sweater. Don’t worry, I had a shirt on under it. I wasn’t whisking topless. Anyhow, I was irritated that I was hot, my arm was sore and I didn’t feel like my eggs were becoming light and fluffy. They had definitely made progress, but I would NOT call them fluffy. Well, this distracted me from adding in the oil. I just jumped straight to stirring in the mashed banana, sour cream and vanilla.

See, I’m back to being good at following directions. I added them in and stirred:

Then mix in dry ingredients with wet. Fold in toasted walnuts. If you’re not sure how to toast nuts, you can either do it in the oven or on the stove top. Just google the instructions. It’s super easy and adds great flavor, definitely worth the little bit of effort.

Once combined, pour into a greased loaf pan.

Hopefully, at this point you don’t shut the oven door and say to yourself, “That’s really weird that this recipe didn’t call for any oil.” Then say out loud to your boyfriend, who happens to be very excited at the prospect of warm banana bread, “Oh crap! I think I just ruined this loaf of bread. I completely forgot to add in the oil.” But I decided what’s done is done and lowered the baking time and prayed for something edible.

Bake for 35 minutes if you didn’t add oil. Or 45-50 minutes if you did add the oil. I’m not sure about the baking times for leaving out other ingredients. It came out looking a little dry.

Since I’m being very brave today(see previous post  about reaching hand blindly into tomato plant to feel for slugs), I cut off a small slice and gave it a try. Still surprisingly delicious. I would love to toast a piece of it and smear a little peanut butter on it, but I’ve just finished some left over curried cauliflower and lentils for dinner and don’t have the room. Maybe for breakfast.

My conclusion: This bread must really be amazing if you can leave out the oil and still get a good slice of banana bread. Roasting the bananas gives it a nice deep, carmely flavor.  A great idea on my part, but I might just be trying to convince myself that I should be allowed in the kitchen after forgetting oil in a bread recipe!

One response

  1. Pingback: Lots of good eats |

Tell me what you think

