Pumpkin spice and everything nice

While I was at Target the other day and strolled through the Halloween section in search of a pumpkin cookie cutter. They only had packages of multiple cutters that were underwhelming.  There was a package mix of pumpkin spice cookie mix that looked interesting, though.

It’s been an extremely busy week at work and I thought making some cookies for my coworkers would be a nice gesture to celebrate it being Friday. Since, I was too exhausted(re: busy week) to make cookies from scratch I pulled out the pumpkin spice package and whipped them up. Brian and I could have probably eaten the entire batch of dough. It was so good and probably extra good because it tasted like fall and last night it was cool and rainy. But since I was making them for my coworkers and the dough had raw egg in it, I would never do that.

Taking in packaged cookies would be almost sinful, so I made a homemade glaze to put on them. My first choice was cream cheese frosting, but I didn’t have any cream cheese and I wasn’t going out in the rain for it. So vanilla glaze it was.

Vanilla glaze ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 3 teaspoons milk
  • lemon zest

Stir all together. This will make a runnier glaze. Adjust milk amounts to adjust thickness of glaze. I zested about 1/4 of a lemon to add a freshness to it.

The cookies turned out pretty well.

Tell me what you think

