Whole Foods inspired Detox salad

I love Whole Foods salad bar. In fact, I requested that be my birthday meal last year. So many delicious options right at your finger tips.

My favorite pre-made salad is their Detox Salad. Sometimes all the veggies in it are chopped super fine, other times they are left a little chunkier. I like when they are left in larger pieces, so that is how I made mine.

Ingredients:

  • one small head broccoli, cut into small pieces
  • one small head cauliflower, cut in to small pieces
  • 2 medium carrots, grated
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped parsley
  • salt and pepper to taste

Chop broccoli into small pieces. I put the left over stems in my food processors to shop them up into small pieces and added them to the bowl as well. Why waste?

Do the same for the cauliflower.

Grate carrots

Add in carrots, sunflower seeds, parsley, raisins and lemon juice.

Stir to combine.

Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes to let flavors marry before serving.

I omitted the sea kelp granules because I don’ t have any, but they are supposed to be great for you. I also used all raisins instead of raisins and currants.

After tasting it, the lemon juice was way over powering and there was a little too much parsley. In the future, I’d cut the lemon juice and parsley in half and add some honey or maple syrup as the one in the salad bar is slightly sweet. This salad is super easy and inexpensive to make. Much cheaper than buying it by the ounce.

 

4 responses

  1. Pingback: The Last Supper |

  2. Pingback: The work breakfast |

Tell me what you think

