Detox Day 1

I don’t intend on doing daily detox updates, but I thought I’d let you know how day 1 is going.

I’m missing my coffee. I’m missing my coffee a lot today as I didn’t get good sleep last night. I’m instead having a mid-morning cup of hot water with a squeeze of lemon in it. However, I had given up coffee before and found myself more alert after weening myself off. As much as I like the flavor, I should probably try to get back to a coffee-free life style.

The recommended breakfast was making juice using 2 grapefruits, 5 carrots and a 1 inch piece of ginger. Well, I don’t have a juicer or extractor or whatever they are called. I do have a Ninja blender though. So, I put it all in the Ninja (peeled and chopped, of course) and drank it as such. It was a little thick but tasted pretty good, and I figured the added fiber wouldn’t hurt me either.

I hit the wall about 1pm. I was really, really missing my coffee and I had the classic caffeine with drawl headache. The next few hours just went downhill from there. I started feeling feverish. I laid down for about an hour when I got home from work.

I still have a headache, but am making some butternut squash soup right now. Hopefully, tomorrow is a little more smooth sailing.

Tell me what you think

