Popovers

While I was looking for Christmas dinner recipes(yes this is a post about Christmas dinner, I’m a little behind because I’ve been so focused on my current detox), I spotted this recipe in December’s Real Simple magazine called Secretly simple popovers. Promising, “Get ready to be blown away: It takes just five minutes to prep these light as air favorites.” Well, well, well. They were simple to make, however they were a flop.

See…

Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted, plus more for the pan
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, spooned and leveled
  • 1 1/2 cups whole milk(I used skim)
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Heat over to 400F. Brush the cups of a 12-cup non-stick muffin tin with butter.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, milk, eggs, butter, and salt, until only a few lumps remain. Do not over mix. I felt like mine was really lumpy, so I may have continued to mix and may have over mixed.

Divide the batter among the muffin cups.

Bake until puffed and a deep golden brown, 30-35 minutes. DO NOT open the oven before 30 minutes or the popovers will collapse. I swear I didn’t open the oven door until the 35 minute mark and they still came out like this, despite being very puffy in the oven…

Pull one popover out to check that the underside is browned. Well, my underside was browned, but they did not POP OVER! So, I put them back in the oven for 10 more minutes where they popped ever so slightly more:

Serve immediately. Well, I served. Brian liked them just fine. I ate half of one and threw the rest out. They just weren’t the light and puffy bread I was looking for. Maybe I’ll try them again later with better results.

One response

Tell me what you think

