Detox Week 2: Complete

I can’t believe that the detox is 2/3 over. Two weeks of no caffeine, alcohol, added sugar, gluten, dairy or processed foods. Honestly, I never thought I could have done it. The crazy thing is that I don’t even crave those things any more.

The first two days were definitely the toughest as your body starts to adjust and starts to get rid of toxins. After that, it’s been smooth sailing. And the benefits are hard to ignore.

  • I sleep better and wake up feeling more refreshed than I ever have without the ups and downs of caffeine.
  • No cravings
  • Foods taste sweeter in their natural state
  • My skin is noticeably better
  • No bloating
  • Never have that “overfull” feeling
  • More energy
  • Muscles recover much more quickly after working out
  • I sweat less while working out
  • I’ve lost 8 pounds

Entering the 3rd tomorrow we are allowed to add back gluten-free grains and eggs. There are only a few recipes that I am looking forward to making in the 3rd week and will probably revert back to repeating some of the recipes from the first week. Since one of my co-workers is my “buddy” in doing the detox it gets talked about a lot at work(or actually, I am her “buddy” since she asked me to do it with her). It has led to other coworkers trying some of the recipes we were eating or making them on their own. I got some great feedback from my co-worker that she had made the kale salad I was raving about it and said she was in love with it, too. Seriously, even if you don’t like kale, you will like this salad.

I think the hardest part is going to decide what I want to do once the detox is over. I want to continue on this same path, but with a little less rigidity. My current thought is to maintain this plan, but have 2 meals a week that I can eat anything I want. I don’t mean go-crazy-buffet style eat whatever I want, but in moderation. So if I want pizza I can have it which would include the otherwise not approved categories of processed foods, dairy and gluten. I like the idea of 2 “cheat” meals per week because it allows me to plan and is a definite number that is easy to keep track of. My guess is that the “cheat” meals will make me feel like crap and I won’t end up wanting them anyway.

Thanks for listening to me ramble. If you’re feeling like you want to jump-start a healthier lifestyle, I would definitely recommend the 21 day detox.

Tell me what you think

