Red lentil soup with turnip and parsley

This is more of a stew than a soup. A thick, hearty stew for those cold winter days. A detoxifying stew for those cold winter days when you find yourself moving around less and hibernating more.

Ingredients(serves 8):

  • 1 1/2 cup dry red lentils
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 3 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 turnip, peeled and diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 15oz can diced tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 cup fresh, flat-leaf parsley, chopped
  • coarse salt and pepper
  • cayenne pepper(optional)
  • cinnamon(optional)

Heat olive oil over medium heat. Add onion, celery and garlic. Cook until tender, about 8 minutes.

Increase heat to high. Add tomatoes, cook one minute.

Add dry lentils, turnip and 6 cups water.

Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to a simmer. Simmer until lentils are tender 20-25 minutes.

Stir in parsley and season with salt and pepper.

At this point, I tasted the soup. It was good but I felt like it needed a little kick, so I added in a teaspoon or two of cayenne pepper. That really took it to the next level and made it even healthier. I was also really curious to see what the turnip tasted like as it cooked in the soup. Had I not known better, I would have thought the turnip was pieces of potato. I think I am going to start substituting turnip for potato as a healthier alternative. As I heated up each bowl, I would often add in a little cinnamon which gave it great depth of flavor and more antioxidants. Both of these are optional but do give the soup even more flavor. This soup isn’t very pretty but was a very filling and comforting soup to eat. I will be making it again once the detox is over.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Samosa wraps and the turnip is the new potato |

  2. Pingback: Cauliflower and yellow lentil curry |

Tell me what you think

