Tofu hot wings

Even though neither Brian or I were all that interested in watching the Super Bowl, I felt like it gave me a good excuse to try out the wings recipe over at (never home)maker. So, we watched the half time show that I was excited for, only to be let down. That was awful. What was Madonna thinking? I’m thinking she just needs to retire.

So after the halftime show was over, I headed to the kitchen to make some tofu hot wings and guacamole to munch on while we watched 50/50. Wow, that move broke my heart then tore it into pieces. Good thing the wings are nice and hearty so they didn’t get tear-soaked and soggy on their way into my mouth.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 block extra firm tofu, drained and pressed
  • 1-2 tablespoons canola oil, for frying
  • 1/2 cup wing sauce
  • 1 tablespoon Earth Balance or butter

Heat oil in skillet over medium-high heat.

Slice tofu into 3/4 in slices. When oil is hot, place tofu in skillet. Cook, turning as needed to make tofu a deep golden brown on all sides.

While the tofu is cooking, add wing sauce and Earth Balance to a bowl.

Microwave for about 45 seconds. Stir to combine.

When the tofu is browned on all sides, toss in buffalo sauce. Let sit for 5-10 minutes.

(never home) make then recommended placing them in the microwave for 30-60 seconds, but I tossed my back in the hot skillet for a few seconds. This made them extra crispy and delicious. However, it took away from their sauciness. In the future I would toss them in sauce again after coming out of the skillet.

These are very tasty and will satisfy any spicy-loving crowd. I would like to find a healthier way to make them instead of frying them in all the oil, perhaps doing a baked version would be good in the future. They went great with guac and chips.

Hope everyone’s weekend was great.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Superbowl party food |

Tell me what you think

