Hot mess enchiladas

When I was in Texas, the land of Tex-Mex food, a few weeks ago I had some really amazing vegetable enchiladas. So, of course, I wanted to recreate them. Well, mine didn’t come out quite like theirs. In fact, they were a hot mess, but they tasted good.

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 yellow(or any color) bell pepper, diced
  • 1 small yellow squash, diced
  • 1 small zucchini, diced
  • 4 oz baby portabellas, sliced
  • 1 15oz can black beans
  • 1 package 100% corn tortillas
  • 1 jar of enchilada sauce of choice
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

Preheat oven to 350.

Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add onion, cook until translucent. Add garlic, cook for about one minute.

Add bell pepper, squash, zucchini and mushroom. Cook until veggies are fork tender.

Add black beans, cumin, coriander, salt, pepper and cook until heated through, about 2 minutes.

In a large casserole dish, spoon a layer of enchilada sauce across the bottom.

Take a few spoonfuls of veggie mixture and place down the center or tortilla.

Roll and place in pan. Continue with tortillas until pan is full.

Pour rest of enchilada sauce over the top of the rolled tortillas.

Bake for 20 minutes or until heated through.

Serve with sides of brown rice and refried beans.

Why do I call these hot mess enchiladas? Well, they turned out looking like a hot mess. I was trying to keep them healthy, so I didn’t fry the tortillas the way enchiladas are traditionally made. My tortillas were breaking on me left and right. I also didn’t spray the pan before I put them in or add enough sauce to the bottom of the pan, so they stuck to the bottom when I was trying to lift them out. They may have looked bad, but they sure tasted good.

Tell me what you think

