Black bean-quinoa burgers

I was really excited about this recipe. Really excited. These burgers had great flavor but they didn’t hold shape. I plan on making a new version of this today with a slightly different recipe, because they are so good that I want the recipe to work out perfectly.

I found this recipe in Vegetarian Times and adapted it a little(which may be where it went wrong).

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 3 tablespoons salsa
  • 1 15oz can black beans, rinsed and drained, divided
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons dried steak seasoning
  • olive oil

Stir together quinoa with 1 1/2 cups water in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat to medium-low and simmer for 20 minutes or until all liquid is absorbed. This will yield about 1 1/2 cups cooked quinoa.

Preheat oven to 350F and generously coat baking sheet with cooking spray. Set aside.

While the quinoa is cooking, place olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. When oil is hot, add onion and salsa, cook about 5 minutes or until onion has softened.

Stir in 3/4 cup of black beans, garlic, steak seasoning and 1 1/2 cups water.

Simmer 9 to 11 minutes, or until most of the liquid has evaporated…that is what the recipe said, but I had to simmer it for over 20 minutes to make all the liquid evaporate.

Transfer the bean and onion mixture to the food processor and 3/4 cup cooked quinoa and process until smooth. Transfer to bowl and stir in remaining 3/4 cup black beans. Season with salt and pepper.

At this point, you are to shape the mixture into 8 patties that are 1/2 cup each. I could tell by looking at the mixture that it was far to runny to shape into a patty. So I scooped out the mixture with a 1/2 cup measuring cup and dumped it on the pan. It only made 6 half cup patties.

And as I cooked them, they really spread out and took about twice as long to cook them as the recipe called for. The recipe stated to bake for 20 minutes, until they are crisp, flip and cook for another 10 minutes. I had to cook them 40 minutes, flip and cook another 20.

I was very frustrated by the end of this recipe as it took almost two hours to make and I was starving by the time they were finally done. I think they would have held together a lot better had a second can of beans been added to the recipe.

Looking forward to the new recipe I am going to make for lunch and hope that they turn out more patty-like with just as great of flavor that these had.

 

7 responses

  1. Thanks for sharing such a thorough review of this recipe. I am working on black bean quinoa patties this week too. My source recommended bread crumbs to hold the mixture together, but I am not satisfied with this ingredient as many of my followers eat gluten free.

    I will be watching to see how your next batch turns out.

    Cheers!

    • I’ve made a spinach black bean burger on neverhomemaker.com before that used oats and that held up really well. After making the ones I made for lunch today(post coming soon), I thought I should have thrown some gf oats in there. It did have some brown rice bread crumbs in there though.

  2. Pingback: Quinoa white bean burgers |

  3. Pingback: Sweet Potato Black Bean Quinoa Patties | How Do You Cook Quinoa?

  4. Pingback: The great veggie burger search continues |

Tell me what you think

