Flourless banana pancakes

Today is Brian’s birthday. Brian loves pancakes and I wanted to make breakfast for him. I wanted to make pancakes, but since I am trying to stay gluten-free as much as possible, I didn’t want to make two batches of pancakes for us. Selfish, I know.

When I found this recipe, I knew it was perfect.

Ingredients:

  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax(optional)
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Put all the ingredients together in a blender and pulse until combined. I kept pulsing to make sure it was super mixed and my batter was pretty runny. I think next time I would leave it a little chunkier. I would also consider adding in mix-ins like nuts, chocolate chips or small pieces of fruit to batter after it was mixed. I don’t like to mess with a recipe too much on the first go-round though.

Back to the pancakes. Put some oil in the bottom of your frying pan(I used coconut oil). Heat it over medium-low. This is really important. Maybe these should be called patience pancakes, because you have to cook them slowly over a much lower heat that you do regular pancakes.

Spoon about 1/4 cup of batter into the pan(after it is heated) and let the puppies cook. Flip when nice and golden brown on one side. Keep making then until your batter is gone. I had the oven on 200F to put them in there on a plate to keep them warm while making the rest.

When I was all done, I grated some milk chocolate over the top for good measure. Hey, it’s his birthday!

Happy Birthday, Brian!

5 responses

  1. Hi Brian, I’m glad it’s your birthday. I hope you had a great day.

    Stacey’s recipe hit the spot at just the right time, since it’s Passover and I’m not eating any bread, cake, etc.until Saturday night.

    I made the pancakes the same way, but added my favorite-raisins to the batter. I also cooked the second batch on medium instead of medium low. I didn’t have to wait as long for them to brown. The flavor was great! Thanks so much.
    Barbara

Tell me what you think

