Strawberry mini muffins

After blogging about the coconut banana bread I was really itching to bake. I knew just what it was going to be, too.

Earlier this week I had seen Fat Free Vegan’s Strawberry mini muffin recipe and wanted to make them. So, I set off to the store for a carton of strawberries. Adapted from Fat Free Vegan.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup strawberries, cut into small chunks
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk( I used vanilla coconut milk)
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax(optional)
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350F.

Mix flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a bowl. Set to the side.

Place strawberries in a medium-sized bowl and roughly mash. I wanted nice sized pieces of strawberry in my muffins once baked, so I left the strawberries a little chunkier.

Add in maple syrup, lemon juice, vanilla, ground flax and coconut milk. Stir together.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until just combined.

Make sure not to over mix. Place about one tablespoon of muffin mix in mini muffin tin.

Bake for about 10 minutes. Yields 24 mini muffs.

They turned out a weird blue-brown color, but were super moist and tasted great. If I were serving them to someone other than Brian and I would probably make a frosting to disguise the odd color of the muffin.

2 responses

Tell me what you think

