Lentil burgers

These might be the biggest flop in my quest for the perfect veggie burger. The flavor is good, but they are in crumbles in a bowl in my refrigerator right now(and that might be my fault). I will probably use them to top a salad.

Recipe adapted.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup dry lentils
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 10 baby carrots, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon dry mustard
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup gluten-free rolled oats(or bread crumbs, if not GF)

Place lentils and water in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Lower the heat. Cover and simmer for about 20-30 minutes, until the lentils are soft and the liquid is gone. Transfer to a bowl, add vinegar, and mash well.

While the lentils are cooking, heat oil in a medium skillet. Saute onion for about 7 minutes. Add remainder of ingredients, excepted oats and saute about 10 minutes or until vegetables are tender.

Add sautéed mixture to the lentils and oats. Mix to combine.

Chill for about an hour before forming patties. This is where I messed up. I put the mixture in the refrigerator and did get around to making the patties until the next day. I think the mixture dried out a little too much.

Turn on broiler in oven.

Form into 4 inch patties. Even though I packed them tightly, I knew that they were going to fall apart. I cooked them anyway.

Broil 7 minutes on each side.

Brian and I both agreed they had good flavor when we tried a broken off chunks of the patties. It’s a recipe that I’ll definitely try again and not deviate from the recipe so much.

Tell me what you think

