Baked falafel

I don’t think I’ve ever met a person who has had good falafel and not liked it. It’s a wonderful flavor combination and can be made healthier by baking.

When I lived in the West Loop, there was a little shop that made great falafel sandwiches. Right before I moved to the north side, they closed down and I have been in mourning ever since. It’s been almost a year now, so I decided it was time for me to make my own falafel.

I scoured the internet high and low for the perfect baked recipe. I ended up combining 3 recipes and was very  happy with the end product.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1 small red onion, finely chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 tablespoons rice flour(use regular flour if not GF)
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon coriander
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons tumeric
  • 1/4 cup parsley, chopped
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 egg, beaten

Preheat oven to 400F.

Place all ingredients except egg and flour into food processor or Ninja blender. Pulse until combined. I like my mine slightly chunkier so you can see nice chunks of chickpea, but if you prefer it smoother, keep pulsing. Don’t let it become too smooth, as you still need to form it into patties. Stir in egg and flour.

I made a combination of balls and patties. You want balls to be slightly larger than a golf ball and patties to be about 4 inches in diameter. Let set for 10 minutes.

Heat a little oil over medium heat in a skillet. Once oil hot, cook patties for 3 minutes on each side. Then transfer to an baking sheet to go to the oven. For the balls, let them cook for about 6 minutes total, rotating them about every 2 minutes, then transfer them to baking sheet.

Bake for 6 minutes on each side for patties and rotate balls when you flip patties.

Serve on top of a salad, in a pita, eat plain.Or make a tahini, olive oil, lemon juice, garlic and crushed red pepper sauce to dizzle on top. Mmm…spice.

These were so flavorful. I was glad I put both the parsley and cilantro in them. I can’t wait to make them again.

Tell me what you think

